Tuesday's Schedule


David Trott
 

 

Hello, ACB Community!

Read to the end for the opportunity to submit your questions to be answered by the Webb Space Telescope Science Institute regarding alt text on NASA’s photos.

Have an enjoyable day in the Community.

Tuesday, August 30, 2022

 

ACB Presents The Daily Schedule: 9am ET, 6am PT, 3am HT

Join your Community Morning Crew for the question of the day; reading of the daily schedule; and sharing time with your Community friends.

Join the call:

ACB Presents The Daily Schedule

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,87832504214#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 878 3250 4214

Passcode: 454653

 

Balancing Body, Mind, and Spirit: 10am ET, 7am PT, 4am HT

Join registered yoga teacher, Lisa Bouley, as we explore the many aspects of yoga. We will be incorporating breath and mindfulness as we move and hold postures, exploring the subtle changes that occur in our bodies and minds as we try different breathing, hand, and body positions and meditation techniques. Our physical yoga practice can be adapted to meet individuals with physical needs and limitations. It is recommended to have a yoga mat or something to lie or sit upon and a straight back chair if getting down on the ground is not accessible or comfortable. Additional props that can be useful include Two yoga blocks or two thick books of relatively equal size; a folded blanket or two; a yoga strap, scarf, necktie, or bathrobe tie; a bolster or couch cushion; wall space if you would like to do postures with legs up the wall, or use it for balance.

Sponsored by Nourish and Delight

Join the call:

Balancing Body, Mind, and Spirit

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,82180195237#,,,,*8754#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 821 8019 5237

Passcode: 8754

 

Herbie’s Cooking Corner: 10am ET, 7am PT, 4am HT

Make baked sweet and sour chicken. Items: 3-4 boneless chicken breasts; salt and pepper; 1 cup cornstarch; 2 eggs, beaten; 1/4 cup canola oil; 3/4 cup sugar; 4 tbs ketchup; 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar; 1 tbsp soy sauce; 1 tsp garlic salt; pans for frying; and baking; oven; spatula; mixing bowl; and spoon.

Dial 662-443-2664 for the ingredients list.

Subscribe to the ACB Cooks email list

Email the ACB Cooks

Find Herbie's Cooking Corner on YouTube

Listen on

ACB Media 5

Say to your Amazon device, “ask ACB Media to play 5.”

Join the call:

Herbie's Cooking Corner

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84194361756#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 841 9436 1756

Passcode: 300989

 

Neighborhood Coffee Klatch: 11am ET, 8am PT, 5am HT

Get to know each other better in small groups with Bel and your fellow community members over good conversation. Bring your favorite morning beverage.

Join the call:

Neighborhood Coffee Klatch

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,87608122562#

Phone: 3126266799

Meeting ID: 876 0812 2562

Passcode: 3146

 

Your Positive Place: 12pm ET, 9am PT, 6am HT

Come join Nancy as she shows you how to make yours a positive place. Each week, we will be discussing a different topic that will help you raise your vibrational energy to a positive peak! Gratitude; The Law of Attraction; and self-talk are just some of the subjects we'll be discussing. We'll end the whole thing with a laughing meditation to put you in the right frame of mind for the rest of your day!

Join the call:

Your Positive Place

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,82744963529#,,,,*9845#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 827 4496 3529

Passcode: 9845

 

Unmute Presents: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 7am HT

Join us each week as we share updates on the Access Technology Community and answer your questions regarding iPhones, Androids, Mac, and Windows. We will also give you insight into new apps; helpful information to stay up to date on accessibility technology; and the best podcasts to listen to.

Sponsored by Unmute Presents

Join the call:

Unmute Presents

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,86193583779#,,,,*511010#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 861 9358 3779

Passcode: 511010

 

Games To Play with Lady A: 2pm ET, 11am PT, 8am HT

Join Lucy for a discussion of games you can play with your Amazon Echo Device. New games will be discussed every time. Feel free to bring your own suggestions.

Listen on

ACB Media 5

Say to your Amazon device, “ask ACB Media to play 5.”

Join the call:

Games To Play with Lady A

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,3874133215#,,,,,,0#,,081956#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 387 413 3215

Passcode: 081956

 

Resistance 101: 3:30pm ET, 12:30pm PT, 9:30am HT

It’s time for an upper body workout using resistance bands. Hand weights, soup cans, or other household items can be substituted. These exercises can be done sitting or standing. Get moving with Leslie Spoone, Certified Aerobic Instructor and Personal Trainer.

Brought to you by The ACB Get Up and Get Moving Campaign

Join the call:

Resistance 101

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85109457871#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 851 0945 7871

Passcode: 862223

 

The Ins and Outs of Sight Loss Later in Life: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 10am HT

Join the discussion of the unique issues and feelings you may be experiencing if you are losing sight later in life. This is your time to talk about your journey and hear from those who have taken it before you. We can empathize and show you the way.

Sponsored by Alliance on Aging and Vision Loss

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group; will not be facilitated by a health care professional; and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call:

The Ins and Outs of Sight Loss Later in Life

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,86577005511#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 865 7700 5511

Passcode: 753480

 

Lively Latin: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 10am HT

A lively introduction to Latin and its effect on everyday English. Lessons in mythology and Roman civilization will be included.

Access class notes

Access podcasts

Join the call:

Lively Latin

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85298895549#,,,,*4589#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 852 9889 5549

Passcode: 4589

 

ACB Crafters – Yarn Dog: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 12pm HT

Celebrate National Dog Month by making a soft, furry friend out of yarn.

Sponsored by ACB Crafters, making crafting accessible

Crafters notes available here

Join the ACB Crafters Facebook group

Subscribe to the ACB Crafters Email list

Email ACB Crafters

Join the call:

ACB Crafters

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,88195906486#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 881 9590 6486

Passcode: 917964

 

Braille Room: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 12pm HT

A place for braille learners and enthusiasts to practice skills together at any level in breakout rooms for 15 minutes at a time.

Contact Braille Together via Email

Join the call:

Braille Room

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,82873717700#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 828 7371 7700

Passcode: 812442

 

Tuesday Topics: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

People with disabilities are among the population with the least disposable income. That means, among other things, that many people who are blind or have low vision have very limited choices where housing is concerned. Despite this, like many of our non-disabled peers, we want to own our own homes. What are the barriers that particularly apply. As a person who has just sold and bought a house, Paul is fully aware of how things have changed since he last moved.

Many of us qualify for subsidized housing. How equal is our access to this system. Is the system accessible. Does state and Federal law need to be strengthened or do housing employees need to be better trained?

There are clear rules governing some elements of access for people who use wheel chairs or have mobility problems. What kinds of accessibility options ought to exist in housing for people who are blind or have low vision? What is ACB doing about this? What else should we do?

Access Tuesday Topics podcasts

Listen on

ACB Media 1

Say to your Amazon device, “ask ACB Media to play 1.”

Join the call:

Tuesday Topics

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,87991221181#

Phone: +13126266799

Webinar ID: 879 9122 1181

 

The Art of Memoir Writing: 7:30pm ET, 4:30pm PT, 1:30pm HT

We will finish the book by reading chapter 9 of Turning memories into memoirs: a handbook for writing life stories by Dennis Ledoux (DB61546)

Join the call:

The Art of Memoir Writing

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,89716446437#,,,,*9832#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 897 1644 6437

Passcode: 9832

 

Getting Started with NVDA: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Join BITS and presenter, Chris Maae, for Getting Started With NVDA, the free screen reader from NV Access. Learn about this full featured, alternative option. If you have not considered NVDA in a while, think about trying it again. Topics will include downloading and installation; customizing settings and voice configurations; navigating the Windows environment; text editing; browsing the web; and much more.

Sponsored by Blind Information Technology Specialists

Join the call:

Getting Started with NVDA

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,91835585918#,,,,*413026#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 918 3558 5918

Passcode: 413026

 

Conversational French: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 3pm HT

Join Kathy to learn conversational French.

Join the call:

Conversational French

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84515906432#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 845 1590 6432

Passcode: 979362

 

The Man Cave: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 3pm HT

All men are invited to discuss issues related to men in a judgement-free environment. Please be respectful.

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group; will not be facilitated by a health care professional; and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call:

The Man Cave

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83039741468#,,,,*355089#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 830 3974 1468
Passcode: 355089

The Chat Café with Teresa and Marja: 10pm ET, 7pm PT, 4pm HT

No camp fires in Oregon right now. So, pull up a chair, and grab a cold glass of whatever strikes your fancy. This week’s question is what song gets your toes tapping and maybe even out on the dance floor.

Sponsored by Hull Foundation and Learning Center

Join the call:

The Chat Cafe with Teresa and Marja

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83267090895#,,,,*279428#

Phone: +13126266799

Meeting ID: 832 6709 0895

Passcode: 279428

 

Tomorrow’s Sneak Peek:

ACB Presents The Daily Schedule: 9am ET, 6am PT, 3am HT

Wednesday Wake Up: 11am ET, 8am PT, 5am HT

Christian Corner: 12pm ET, 9am PT, 6am HT

10am PT, 7am HT

Widows and Widowers Support Group: 2pm ET, 11am PT, 8am HT

Community Connect: 3pm ET, 12pm PT, 9am HT

Strictly Folk: 3pm ET, 12pm PT, 9am HT

Advanced Full Flexibility Yoga with Resistance Ball: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 10am HT

Creative Journey Support Group: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 12pm HT

It’s Electric: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1pm HT

Healthy Living Encouragement: 7:30pm ET, 4:30pm PT, 1:30pm HT

Meditation Celebration: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Open Mic Night: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 2pm HT

Paranormal Hot Spot 2.0: 8:30pm ET, 5:30pm PT, 2:30pm HT

Call for Questions About Webb Space Telescope Photos & Alt Text

Have you experienced the beauty and awe of the incredible photos taken by NASA’s James Webb Space Telescope? The scientists, writers, and educators from the Space Telescope Science Institute want to make space accessible for everyone and have created vividly detailed alt text for every photo that has been released. These image descriptions can be found in the Webb’s First Images Gallery under “Download Options.” In recognition of this valuable resource, the American Council of the Blind will be hosting a community event with representatives from the Space Telescope Science Institute to discuss how their team have collaborated with one another to make the photos accessible to people who are blind or low vision. We would love to hear from you with any questions that you have for their team. If your question is selected, we will meet with you to pre-record your question, which will then be aired during the live event. If you would like to submit a question, please email kgasque@... by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, September 16th. This event will be a great opportunity to learn how NASA and the Space Telescope Science Institute are bridging the gap in access and inclusion for people with disabilities. More details about the event will be coming soon, so please stay tuned.

 

Follow ACB on Twitter

Follow ACB on Facebook

Find ACB on YouTube

 

_._,_._,_